Urbex

Hi there,

today I will start right away with a quote of the photographer because it simply describes his work perfectly.

Urban exploration (often shortened as urbex or UE) is the examination of the normally unseen or off-limits parts of urban areas these include disused or abandoned Mental Asylums, Hospitals, Prisons and Industrial sites. I have tried to represent the fears inside us all of what lies behind the half open door or hides under the disused bed.

The thing I personally like about these Urban Exploration pictures is that when you look at them, you start to imagine a story behind it and how it was used and looked in it’s best times. Well that might just be me, I don’t know. But don’t you also think that’s fascinating?

Derek Dallow/ http://www.dallowphotoart.com/ also on Flickr

Image

Image

Image

 

Image

Image

Image

Image

3 responses to “Urbex

  1. Dear Stella,
    These are a beautiful set of photographs, and I love the words that you wrote to accompany them, one does indeed imagine a story behind the photographs, a story shrouded in mystery and imagination, hope, expectation and sadness.
    Maybe your gift is after all storytelling, I can imagine you as an author of “Short Stories”. πŸ™‚ Keep up the great work.

    • thank you so much for your kind words photographymemoirs! To be honest I hate writing short stories I don’t know why πŸ˜€
      but it is good to hear that yoou like my style, thanks πŸ™‚

      • I love the honesty of youth. You probably hate short story writing because you think you’re not good at it, but i sense a dormant gift in you that if nurtured will burn like a bright flame. I like your creative passion Stella:)

Leave a Reply

